Nokia, sorry, you must die

29/08/2009

We all know the value of gadgets is mostly in the software. The hardware must be good, of course, and to llok at and so on but the difference is in the software. Both on the device and connecting PC.

Every manufacturer can learn from Apple’s success with the iPod and iTunes combo. iTunes just works (a lot can be said against it, but not that it does not work).

I got a simple telephone – Nokia 6300- with the renewal of a subscription. Popped in the CDROM that came with it in the box. Wanted to do some sim card contacts list lean up on the PC. Connect via usb. Guess what?  Error. Bloody error “unexpected system error” or similar. Sigh.

Nokia makes tons of different models and it is a very difficult task.

* The software installed a Synchronizer without asking. Another startup item in my tray. No option in the settings that I do not want to synchronize. I dont even have Outlook installed (the assumed and only app to sync with), you blind moron!

* Actually 2 icons are installed in my system tray. And a desktop icon, without my consent.  Fuck you Nokia! And I am a experiences gadget and pc user. How must a less experienced user find her way through all these icons, this clutter of options ?

* I clicked on the icon Contacts, as I wanted to clean up my SIM card. Great! the software silently copied all my contacts to telephone first. Now all the contacts are double. Sigh. I want to work from my SIM card only. Don’t you support that?

* the software looks like software form Sun or cheap shareware;  a lot of loose dialogs, screens with half scroll bars, buttons that are ugly and misplaced. (actually most software looks a lot nicer).

I don’t want to be a Apple Fanboy, but you easily become one as the major players are dropping the ball by selling this mediocre at best software.

What a misery.

UPDATE

I spotted an option ‘Update Phone Firmware’. Always happy for the latest, I clicked it. Sigh, it opens a download page on the nokia site. So no integrated software updater.
Next, I have to enter my phone’s model number. You bloody software, you *know* you are connected to a 6300!
These things make the difference. It’s called user experience. And with the Nokia 6300 it sucks bigtime.

Leave a Reply

